Third Announcement

'The Broad Impact of Low Frequency Observing' and the '4th LOFAR Users Meeting'

19-23 June, 2017

Bologna, Italy

www.astron.nl/lowfrequencyobserving2017

lowfrequency2017@astron.nl

Confirmed invited speakers are mentioned below. A tool for booking a hotel room against a discounted rate is now available. Reservations for the social activity can now be made.

Previous announcements are available here.

RATIONALE

LOFAR, the most versatile and powerful low frequency radio observatory available, will complete the first five years of general user observing in 2017. A host of other low-frequency facilities, including the MWA, LWA, GMRT, VLITE, PAPER, CHIME, and 21CMA, are also impacting a wide range of research fields. Intensive preparations are under way for the SKA-low.

The conference 'The Broad Impact of Low Frequency Observing' will explore relevant links to some of the main facilities complementary to LOFAR including ALMA, the VLA, and VLBI networks in the radio, as well as some of the world's major observatories at other wavebands. There will be invited as well as contributed talks and posters. Participants will obtain a good overview of the versatility and state-of-the-art technical capabilities available at low frequencies, and of the planned upgrades to LOFAR and the other current facilities, looking ahead also to how these will complement the SKA-low in the years to come. The conference will run from Monday morning 19 June, 9 am till Friday 23 June, lunch time.

On Friday afternoon 23 June, staff from the ASTRON Radio Observatory will host the fourth LOFAR users meeting. This meeting is aimed at wide-ranging dialogue with the full LOFAR community, and is intended to bring together members of the Key Science Projects (KSPs), researchers with approved LOFAR projects, as well as any potential LOFAR users. ASTRON RO staff will demonstrate the current status of the LOFAR instrument and summarize plans for future development of software and procedures. For the users, this meeting represents an important forum for discussion, where they will have the opportunity to give their feedback on LOFAR operations and development, and highlight, when required, the need for improvement or change. The meeting will run between 14:00 – 18:30.

CONFIRMED INVITED SPEAKERS:

Ramesh Bhat (Curtin University)

Bhaswati Bhattacharyya (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research)

Robert Braun (SKA Organization)

Gianfranco Brunetti (INAF)

Ger de Bruyn (ASTRON)

Stijn Buitink (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) and Anna Nelles (University of California)

Benedetta Ciardi (Max-Planck-Institut fur Astrophysik)

Heino Falcke (Radboud University Nijmegen)

Richard Fallows (ASTRON)

Marijke Haverkorn (Radboud University Nijmegen)

George Heald (CSIRO)

Jean-Mathias Griessmeier (LPC2E, CNRS Orleans)

Jason Hessels (ASTRON)

Tim Huege (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Neal Jackson (The University of Manchester)

Michael Kramer (Max-Planck-Institut fur Radioastronomie/Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics)

Maaike Mevius (ASTRON)

Raffaella Morganti (ASTRON)

Diana Morosan (Trinity College Dublin)

Tara Murphy (The University of Sydney)

Tom Muxlow (The University of Manchester)

Andre Offringa (ASTRON)

Emily Petroff (ASTRON/University of Amsterdam)

Divya Oberoi (NCRA/TIFR)

Jonathan Pritchard (Imperial College London)

Huub Röttgering (Leiden Observatory)

Elaine Sadler (The University of Sydney)

Vernesa Smolcic (University of Zagreb)

Cyril Tasse (Observatoire de Paris)

Cathryn Trott (Curtin University)

Franco Vazza (INAF)

Reinout van Weeren (CfA Harvard)

Ralph Wijers (University of Amsterdam)

Wendy Williams (University of Hertfordshire)

HOTEL & SOCIAL ACTIVITIES - BOOKING

Otherwise, feel free to reserve one of the many other hotels in Bologna. It is recommended to reserve a room well before the conference, as June is a popular month for tourism.

Social activities will take place on Wednesday afternoon, 21 June. Participants can register for one activity: a tour to the Medicina telescope or one of the activities organized via Bologna Welcome. More details are given online.

REGISTRATION AND ABSTRACT SUBMISSION

Registration will be possible until 15 May 2017. A reduced registration fee of 250 euro will be applied for registrations completed by 2 April, which is also the mandatory deadline for abstract submissions. After that, a late registration fee of 325 euro will be applied.

Abstract submission will be open until 2 April 2017. You can choose to submit an abstract for a talk or for a poster. Final selection will be carried out by the SOC before 1 May 2017.

You can register for the meeting <u>here</u> and after registration, submit an abstract <u>here</u>.

IMPORTANT DATES

3 February - 3rd announcement with invited speakers. Continuation of registration.

Hotel bookings open: discounted offers subject to availability.

2 April - Abstract submission deadline. Early registration closes.

^{&#}x27;Bologna Welcome' has provided an online tool for participants to book a hotel room against a discounted rate. If you want to profit from this discount, book a room via: http://www.bolognawelcome.com/en/international-astronomy-conference-offer/hotel-offers/ Use the discount code mentioned in the registration confirmation email. Offers are subject to availability.

- 15 May Late registration closes.
- 19 June Registration, start of conference
- 19 June Welcoming reception
- 19 23 June CONFERENCE
- 21 June Social activities
- 21 June Conference dinner
- 22 June Public lecture in Auditorium Biagi
- 23 June, afternoon: 4th LOFAR Users Meeting

SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:

- P. Best (University of Edinburgh) co-chair
- L. Koopmans (Kapteyn Astronomical Institute) co-chair
- R. Vermeulen (ASTRON/ILT) co-chair
- C. Carilli (NRAO)
- J. Chengalur NCRA/TIFR)
- J. Croston (University of Southampton)
- R. Dettmar (Ruhr-Universitat Bochum)
- P. Gallagher (Trinity College Dublin)
- G. Hallinan (Caltech)
- J. Horandel (Radboud University Nijmegen & Nikhef)
- M. Johnston-Hollitt (Victoria University of Wellington)
- I. Prandoni (INAF)
- H. Rothkaehl (Space Research Centre, Polish Academy of Sciences)
- A. Rowlinson (ASTRON & University of Amsterdam)
- B. Stappers (The University of Manchester)
- S. Tingay (INAF)
- R. Wayth (Curtin University)
- P. Zarka (CNRS, Observatoire de Paris, PSL)

LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:

- R. Pizzo (ASTRON) co-chair
- I. Prandoni (INAF) co-chair
- S. Righini (INAF)
- M. Stagni (INAF)
- $M.\ Tibbe\ (ASTRON)$
- S. Tingay (INAF)