General information

LOFAR is a cutting-edge, low-frequency, multi-field aperture array telescope that is using transformational technologies and novel software approaches. LOFAR has entered its operational phase in December 2012, and since then is delivering to the WorldWide astronomical community scientific and unique data in the relatively unexplored spectral window below 200 MHz.
A host of other low-frequency facilities, including the MWA, LWA, GMRT, VLITE, PAPER, CHIME, and 21CMA, are also impacting a wide range of research fields. Intensive preparations are under way for the SKA-low.

It is now an appropriate time to review major recent achievements and results at low radio frequencies in their broader scientific context. From 19-23 June 2017, a conference on The Broad Impact of Low Frequency Observing will be held in the attractive Italian city of Bologna, hosted by INAF. The conference is organized by INAF and ASTRON with support from the International LOFAR Telescope.



Science Conference, 19-23 June 2017

The science conference will explore relevant links to some of the main facilities complementary to LOFAR including ALMA, the VLA, and VLBI networks in the radio, as well as some of the worlds major observatories at other wavebands. There will be invited as well as contributed talks and posters. Participants will obtain a good overview of the versatility and state-of-the-art technical capabilities available at low frequencies, and of the planned upgrades to LOFAR and the other current facilities, looking ahead also to how these will complement the SKA-low in the years to come.


The conference will take place between 19 June, 9 am till Friday 23 June lunch time.




The fourth LOFAR Users Meeting, 23 June 2017

On Friday afternoon 23 June, staff from the ASTRON Radio Observatory will host the fourth LOFAR users meeting. This meeting is aimed at wide-ranging dialogue with the full LOFAR community, and is intended to bring together members of the Key Science Projects (KSPs), researchers with approved LOFAR projects, as well as any potential LOFAR users. ASTRON RO staff will demonstrate the current status of the LOFAR instrument and summarize plans for future development of software and procedures. For the users, this meeting represents an important forum for discussion, where they will have the opportunity to give their feedback on LOFAR operations and development, and highlight, when required, the need for improvement or change.

The meeting will take place on Friday 23 June from 14:00-18:30.



Participants are encouraged to attend both events. One registration fee is applied.



Important Dates

22 December Second announcement. Website goes live & registration opens.
3 February Third announcement with invited speakers.
2 April Abstracts submission deadline; Early registration closes.
15 May Late registration closes.



Confirmed invited speakers

Ramesh Bhat (Curtin University)

Bhaswati Bhattacharyya (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research)

Robert Braun (SKA Organization)

Gianfranco Brunetti (INAF)

Ger de Bruyn (ASTRON)

Stijn Buitink (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) and Anna Nelles (University of California)

Benedetta Ciardi (Max-Planck-Institut fur Astrophysik)

Heino Falcke (Radboud University Nijmegen)

Richard Fallows (ASTRON)

Marijke Haverkorn (Radboud University Nijmegen)

George Heald (CSIRO)

Jean-Mathias Griessmeier (LPC2E, CNRS Orleans)

Jason Hessels (ASTRON)

Tim Huege (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Huib Intema (Leiden Observatory)

Neal Jackson (The University of Manchester)

Michael Kramer (Max-Planck-Institut fur Radioastronomie/Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics)

Maaike Mevius (ASTRON)

Raffaella Morganti (ASTRON)

Diana Morosan (Trinity College Dublin)

Tara Murphy (The University of Sydney)

Tom Muxlow (The University of Manchester)

Andre Offringa (ASTRON)

Emily Petroff (ASTRON/University of Amsterdam)

Divya Oberoi (NCRA/TIFR)

Jonathan Pritchard (Imperial College London)

Huub Röttgering (Leiden Observatory)

Elaine Sadler (The University of Sydney)

Vernesa Smolcic (University of Zagreb)

Cyril Tasse (Observatoire de Paris)

Cathryn Trott (Curtin University)

Franco Vazza (INAF)

Reinout van Weeren (CfA Harvard)

Ralph Wijers (University of Amsterdam)

Wendy Williams (University of Hertfordshire)